News & Press

Prominent AGC Members to Receive 2017 Beavers Awards

Alan Landes, President and CEO of Herzog Contracting Corp, and Scott Laumann, Northwest Field Operations Manager for Shimmick Construction, are among the individuals who will be honored with 2017 Golden Beaver awards in January.

Paul Cocotis, CEO of Shimmick Construction and 2016 President of the Beavers, made the announcement last week naming the 2017 Golden Beavers award recipients. Awardees will be honored during an annual dinner January 20, 2017 in Los Angeles. The Beavers is a California-based heavy construction association that counts many leading AGC of California members among its ranks. 

Landes, who is Past President of both AGC of California and AGC of America, will receive the Management Award, honoring his 44 years of work in the construction industry. He helped grow Herzog from a small regional highway contractor into a diversified corporation building nationwide highway, mass transit and heavy civil projects.

Laumann will receive the Supervision Award. He began his career with Kaiser Steel in Vallejo, CA and moved on to serve as a piledriving foreman and then superintendent for Homer J. Olsen, Inc. before joining Shimmick Construction in 1990. He has overseen numerous major projects ever since.

Also slated to be recognized are Neil Wiley of McNeil, Silveira, Rice & Wiley with a Service and Supply Award, and Lynn Barr, former President and CEO of Underground Construction Co., Inc., who will receive a Special Award.